Monsignor Tria recounts in his book “Memorie storiche, civili ed ecclesiastiche” (Historical memoirs, civil and ecclesiastical) of 1736 AD, that Colloredo (also known as Caroleto) was a ruined house in the plains of the Saccione river, near Campomarino.

The devout Marchese del Vasto, Diego D’Avalos D’Aragona, often came here on the way to his estate in Serracapriola. When he learned that a villain had discovered a panel painting of the Blessed Virgin, he decided to renovate the ruins and build a church.

The coat of arms of the noble Casa D’Avalos is still visible on the door of the church of Madonna Grande, together with the venerated painting on the main altar.

The octagonal shape of the old Colloredo hamlet is reflected in the logo of “Borgo di Colloredo” which also celebrates the name.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!